Photo of Matthew Sonne

Matt Sonne is a partner in the Labor and Employment Practice Group in the firm's Orange County office.

Since 2005, California employers with 50 or more employees were required to provide at least 2 hours of sexual harassment training every 2 years to each supervisory employee, and to new supervisory employees within 6 months of their assumption of a supervisory position.  However, all employers may not yet know that the California anti-harassment training requirements were significantly expanded by the California legislature (SB 1343 and SB 788 – to read the prior article, click here).  Now, California employers with 5 or more employees must provide sexual harassment training and education by January 1, 2021 to not just supervisory employees, but non-supervisory employees as well. This new law requires many California employers to provide anti-harassment training, for the first time, in both English and Spanish. Specifically,

Continue Reading California’s Deadline is Fast Approaching: Employers Must Complete Harassment Prevention Training for English and Spanish-Speaking Workforces by Year’s End

In University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center v. Nassar, — U.S. — (June 24, 2013), the U.S. Supreme Court in a 5-4 decision handed employers a victory by raising the legal standard that an employee must satisfy to prove unlawful retaliation. In Nassar, a physician attempted to show that his employer retaliated against him for complaining of discrimination. In ruling against the employee, the Court held that a litigant must meet a high standard of causation and prove that the retaliatory conduct was the “but-for” cause of the employer’s action rather than just one motivating factor.
Continue Reading U.S. Supreme Court Requires Litigants To Prove “But-For Causation” In Workplace Retaliation Lawsuits